Platform Graduate Award 2017


CVAN South East is delighted to announce the contenders for the Platform Graduate Award 2017. Forty-one graduate artists selected from sixteen universities will be exhibited in five partner galleries – Aspex in Portsmouth, De La Warr Pavilion in Bexhill-on-Sea, MK Gallery in Milton Keynes, Modern Art Oxford and Turner Contemporary in Margate. These graduates represent the very best of young and emerging visual artists in the South East region. The selected artists are:

Nathan Caldecott (Ruskin School of Art, University of Oxford), Freddie Davies (Oxford Brookes University) and Laura Nicholson (University of Reading) in solo exhibitions at Modern Art Oxford until 17 September. 

Dominyka Barauskaite and Elizabeth Cahill (University of Hertfordshire), Christopher Daubney (University of Northampton) and Simon Harutyunyan (University of Bedfordshire) in solo exhibitions at MK Gallery from 31 August to 25 September.

Adina Breden-Thorpe (University of the Creative Arts), Edward Byard and Stephen Foy-Philp (Canterbury Christ Church University), Tayler Goatier and Luiza Jordan (University of Kent), Kieran Rook and Janine Weger (University of the Creative Arts Canterbury) at Turner Contemporary from 15 September to 5 November.

George Marguet-Pew and Fay Turner (Arts University Bournemouth), India Coles and Edward Carey (Winchester School of Art), Svetlana Ochkovskaya and Hannah Stockem (Southampton Solent University), Morgan Ward and Pietra Marello (University of Chichester), Archie Munro and Vytaute Trijonyte (University of Portsmouth) and Vanessa Omer and Christopher Beattie (University of the Creative Arts, Farnham) at Aspex from 15 September to 26 November.  

Sophie Barber and Amy Wilson (University of Brighton at Sussex Coast College, Hastings) and The 13 Person Collective (thirteen graduates of the University of Brighton) in exhibition at De La Warr Pavilion from 16 September to 5 November.

Artist statements of those selected can be found here.

Following the exhibition and events programme across the five participating galleries, one artist from each gallery will be nominated for the Platform Graduate Award (which includes a £2,500 bursary and mentoring from artist Jonathan Parsons). The winning artist will be announced in December.